HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Rulings Comprehension

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
j0hnb0i
Admin
Admin


Posts: 1331
Join date: 2010-05-27
Age: 24
Location: California

PostSubject: Rulings Comprehension   Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm

One of the things that some of you asked for was help with rulings, so we decided to have this little competition to help you guys out!

This is going to be a little different from the previous quiz of the week competition that we had before. In this competition you will be asked a number of questions and will be awarded +40 points for every right answer and -20 points for each wrong one (the minimum number of points you can get is 0, so you won't lose anything for participating).

On November 6, 2011 we will post the answers and you will be given DGA points equal to the number of points you earned for each right answer

Please PM either coolchemist2001 or j0hnb0i your answers.

Have fun! =D



1.1: I have a face up TG librarian, and my opponent summons blackrose dragon and declares that he wants to use the nuke eff. Do I get the +1 from librarian or not? Explain.
1.2: Would the answer be different if my opponent was summoning Trishula and removing my librarian? How about mist wurm targetting my librarian?

2. I have a face up Neo spacian grant mole. My opponent summons Ally of justice Catastor and attacks my grand mole. Is my opponent doing the right thing here or no? Why?

3: I have a face up E-hero the shining and 3 e-hero monsters in my banished card zone, and opponent has a face down monster. I attack that monster and it appears to be a ryko, that ryko targets the shining for the destruction eff. What happens next?

4. I and my opponent both have a face up mystic tomato. It's my turn so i attack and both tomatoes die. We both use its effect. My opponent tells me that he wants me to use my effect first so that he can see what i summon, I say that i want him to go first. You are the judge, how do you solve this problem?

5.1: We are having a mirror match with both I and my opponent using geartown. I have 1 gear town in hand, and 1 face up on my side of the field. I destroy the one on the field and activate my new gear town, and run to my deck to try summon gadjiltron dragon from it. My opponent lulz. Was he right in laughing at me?
5.2: Still in the same match, My opponent has a face up geartown. I activate a geartown in my hand to destroy his. My opponent lulz even more. Was he right?
5.3: Same match. I have a face up geartown. My opponent sets a geartown in his field-spell zone. I lul. Was i right?

_________________


Spoiler:
 


Last edited by j0hnb0i on Wed Nov 02, 2011 3:55 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
coolchemist2001



Posts: 106
Join date: 2011-08-17
Age: 102

PostSubject: Re: Rulings Comprehension   Wed Nov 02, 2011 3:33 am

Bumping for more answers if people didn't see this yet Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
NotSoGallantGallade
Absol
Absol


Posts: 550
Join date: 2011-09-14
Age: 19
Location: U.S.

PostSubject: Re: Rulings Comprehension   Thu Nov 10, 2011 12:56 am

Are we gonna see the answers and get points and all that fun stuff anytime soon?

_________________


Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ffgtfgtr.deviantart.com
j0hnb0i
Admin
Admin


Posts: 1331
Join date: 2010-05-27
Age: 24
Location: California

PostSubject: Re: Rulings Comprehension   Thu Nov 10, 2011 3:51 am

Waiting for coolchemist2001 =b

_________________


Spoiler:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Harper7000
Chaosking
Chaosking


Posts: 2581
Join date: 2010-05-28
Age: 20
Location: Phoenix, Arizona

PostSubject: Re: Rulings Comprehension   Thu Nov 10, 2011 6:25 am

Um...did I send the answers to this? I don't remember :S

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
j0hnb0i
Admin
Admin


Posts: 1331
Join date: 2010-05-27
Age: 24
Location: California

PostSubject: Re: Rulings Comprehension   Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:15 am

if you did you didn't send them to me haha

_________________


Spoiler:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
rjuto



Posts: 175
Join date: 2011-11-03
Age: 24
Location: idk

PostSubject: Re: Rulings Comprehension   Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:18 am

um are we still in time to send the answers? O_o

Too bad I didn't see this earlier D= lol. oh well.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
j0hnb0i
Admin
Admin


Posts: 1331
Join date: 2010-05-27
Age: 24
Location: California

PostSubject: Re: Rulings Comprehension   Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:38 am

you have until i post the answers to send them in. and i'm not gonna post the answers until i get a reply from coolchemist2001 haha

_________________


Spoiler:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
j0hnb0i
Admin
Admin


Posts: 1331
Join date: 2010-05-27
Age: 24
Location: California

PostSubject: Re: Rulings Comprehension   Sat Nov 12, 2011 10:57 pm

here are the answers! (sorry they took so long)
if you didn't notice, most of the questions were based on mandatory and optional effects and SEGOC.

1.1: T.G. Librarian's effect is mandatory and Black Rose Dragon's effect is optional. mandatory effects are placed on the chain before optional effects, so Librarian's effect is chain link 1 and Black Rose is chain link 2. the chain resolves backwards. so black rose destroys everything and librarian is no longer on the field so it's effecet will resolve without effect.
1.2: The answer would not be different if your opponent summoned Trishula. Trishula's effect is optional, like Black Rose, and would resolve before Librarian got to resolve. Mist Wurm is different. It's effect is mandatory. and when 2 mandatory effects activate simultaneously, the turn player's effect becomes chain link 1 and the non-turn player's effect would be chain link 2. since the controller of Librarian is the non-turn player, his/her effect would be chain link 2 and would resolve
before Mist Wurm.

2: Catastor's effect is mandatory and Grand Mole's effect is optional. since Catastor's effect is mandatory it will be chain link 1 and Grand Mole will be chain link 2, since it's effect is optional. grand mole would resolve first returning Catastor and itself to the hand and extra deck and Catastor would resolve without effect.

3: Ryko's effect would resolve and destroy Shining and then mills the top 3 cards of the deck. since the last thing to happen was not The Shining leaving the field and going to the grave, the effect to get 2 HEROs to your hand misses the timing. The Shining has an optioinal "when....you can" effect, which means that it's trigger has to be the last thing to happen or it will miss the timing.

4: when 2 effects activate simultaneously we look at SEGOC(Simultaneous Effects Go On a Chain) to form the chain. the order should go:

1) Turn Player's mandatory effects
2) Non-turn Player's mandatory effects
3) Turn Player's optional effects
4) Non-turn Player's optional effects

since both effects are optional the chain will build like SEGOC order. since you are turn player and attacked into the other one your tomato will be chain link 1 and your opponent will be chain link 2. so chain resolves backwards and your opponent summons his monster first and then you summon yours after.

5.1: Although it is not good to actually laugh at your opponents, your opponent was right. Geartown's effect to special summon the Dragon thing is a "when....you can" optional trigger effect, so it's destruction has to be the last thing to happen or it will miss the timing. when you play a new field spell, and replace your old one, the last thing to happen is the activation of the new field spell resolving. so in this case it would miss the timing.
5.2: Your opponent was correct (about the situation, not the laughing). when your opponent has a face-up field spell active and you activate a new field spell, your opponent's field spell will not be destroyed until after your new field spell resolves. so the destruction of your opponent's field spell, by game mechanics, will be the last thing to happen, thus allowing him to summon the Dragon thing.
5.3: Why is everyone laughing at each other?! The rule book says that there can only be 1 face-up spell of the field at a time. so if you have a face-up field spell and your opponent sets his field spell, nothing will happen. No destruction, no nothing.

if you have more questions please feel free to ask =D

here are some links if you would like to learn more about SEGOC and the Field Card Zone
http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/SEGOC
http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Field_Card_Zone

_________________


Spoiler:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
redgar



Posts: 466
Join date: 2010-06-11
Age: 21

PostSubject: Re: Rulings Comprehension   Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:06 pm

Q: Will you post here how many correct answer each one got?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
LegendaryFrost



Posts: 1312
Join date: 2010-05-26
Age: 19
Location: Somewhere in Africa

PostSubject: Re: Rulings Comprehension   Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:17 pm

Ya I was kinda wondering the same thing

_________________





~DGA All Out Winner~
~DGA Chaos Tourney Winner~
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Shadow



Posts: 299
Join date: 2011-03-10
Age: 19

PostSubject: Re: Rulings Comprehension   Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:28 pm

I'd like to help in making the next competition if possible :O
Back to top Go down
View user profile
j0hnb0i
Admin
Admin


Posts: 1331
Join date: 2010-05-27
Age: 24
Location: California

PostSubject: Re: Rulings Comprehension   Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:29 pm

like, how many of you got each of the questions right or which questions that you guys got right?

@Shadow PM me and let me know how you wanna help.

_________________


Spoiler:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
redgar



Posts: 466
Join date: 2010-06-11
Age: 21

PostSubject: Re: Rulings Comprehension   Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:37 pm

For example:


Redgar: 2/6 correct. 20RC cashed
Frost: 6/6 correct 9000RC cashed

etc etc
Back to top Go down
View user profile
coolchemist2001



Posts: 106
Join date: 2011-08-17
Age: 102

PostSubject: Re: Rulings Comprehension   Sun Nov 13, 2011 1:13 am

@ Redgar: I would prefer that done privately via pm's as opposed to posting. That way, you don't mind participating in the quiz even if you know you'll get all the answers wrong. I can pm the people who pm'ed me and i guess J0hn can do the same.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 

Rulings Comprehension

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next

 Similar topics

-
» more rulings to ask ;D
» Madolche Rulings
» safe zone rulings
» Scrap rulings (With emperors)
» Utopia, Hope rulings

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Duelist's Den ::  ::  :: -