Duelist's Den
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeThe best deck I_icon_mini_portalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

The best deck

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
gutsberserk
Berserk
Berserk
gutsberserk

The best deck Empty
PostSubject: The best deck   The best deck EmptyTue Jul 23, 2013 3:40 am

another discussion topic for you, bitches.

Let's talk about deck choices for a while.
generally there are 2 popular mindsets:

1. Play the best deck.

2. Play what you like.

When I started playing I was using the second mindset. I'd always play what I liked and hated every top tier strategy. I'd play the most garbage  cards without using any reasoning.

Next as I got a bit better, I was only using tier 2 decks. They were better than garbage decks but not as boring as top tier. I'd still lose a lot of games to tier 1 strategies, but refused to get better.

After I realized that my past mindsets didn't work, I finally started to acknowledge tier 1 decks and only used the first mindset. I thought I had the perfect answer. I'd always just use "the best deck" and thought that would give me the edge, at least deck choice wise.

But I would still lose to tier 2 decks, even when playing "perfectly". I couldn't get it. Why is this guy beating me, even though he is playing an inferior deck?

My philosophy changed to the following (it's kinda a mix of both mindsets):

There is no best deck, there is only a best deck choice for a particular event.

Usually the best deck is considered to be the one has won the most events. But is it truly the best deck?

Let's take a flashback to YCS Atlanta 2010, where Frazier Smith and his boys captured the first 3 places with Gravekeeper's.